REGULAR BOARD MEETING October 16, 2017

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on October 16, 2017 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Dena Johnson, Jon Karger, Michael Forsgren, Kathy Ouren, Anne Peterson. Board members absent: Charlie Blixt. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, CJ Holl, Barb Ripley, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Brian Korf, Cary Haugrud, Rachel Haugrud, Sean Fitzsimmons, Lou Hoglund, Modesty Tallarico, Esmeralda Franco, Imelda Farias.

The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Dena Johnson.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the meeting agenda. The motion was seconded by Jon Karger and carried.

Three students presented information about the PAY program.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve minutes of the regular meeting on September 18, 2017 Approve payment of the bills and financial claims as presented Accept donations:

To PRHS soccer – Pelican Rapids Rotary-\$250

To PRHS soccer – Alvin Kvall-\$100

To Valkyries – MN National Bank-\$250

To scholarships – Class of 2017-\$467.47

To Donald F. Schmidt scholarship – Rebecca Schmidt-\$500

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Brian Evenson as Asst. Boys Basketball coach Hire Derrick Nelson as Asst. Boys Basketball coach Approve a medical leave for Ashlee Olson from approximately 11/6/17 to 12/22/17

Approve the Agreement for Service for Community Education with LCSC The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the Community Education Report for 2016-17. The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the second reading of the following policies:

Policy 102 Equal Opportunity

Policy 524 Internet Use Policy 714 Fund Balance

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve the first reading of the following policies:

Policy 906 Community Notification of Predatory Offender
The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Michael Forsgren introduced the following resolution and moved its adoption:

Lakes Country Service Cooperative
Nomination Petition

Be it hereby resolved that:

The Board of Pelican Rapids School District 548 nominates Jon Karger to serve as a board of directors nominee of the Lakes Country Service Cooperative (LCSC) and authorizes this individual's name to be placed on the ballot to be submitted to LCSC voting members.

Members voting in favor of this nomination are:

Anne Peterson, Dena Johnson, Michael Forsgren, Kathy Ouren with Jon Karger abstaining

The motion was seconded by Kathy Ouren and upon a vote being taken the resolution passed.

The meeting was adjourned.

Michael Forsgren, Clerk

Policy 533

Dena Johnson, Vice Chair

Wellness